Policies, Not Politics.

Tripolicy is a pioneering concept in Lebanon in general and the city of Tripoli in particular. It is an online journal and platform for public policy discourse that focuses on studying and analyzing the city of Tripoli in its intellectual, social, cultural, and economic capacities. Penned by the people involved in the city, specialists, and the inhabitants themselves, Tripolicy presents an insight into the lives, experiences, and thoughts of these individuals by giving a voice to all who have always had much to say but were never heard. Tripolicy melds these thoughts and ideas in order to create a future vision for the city for the year 2030 and beyond.

 

Mission

The idea of Tripolicy stems from a profound belief that Tripoli possesses nigh unrivaled potential across the Mediterranean coast that remains untapped to this day. This has been a result of what can be described as one of the prime examples of systematic governmental neglect and intentional resource deprivation in the history of the Lebanese Republic and the field of public policy. The purpose of the Tripolicy project is to present the future of the city as a subject of debate and change, away from the notion of accepting it as an inevitable destiny of dilapidation we are bound to. This future is shaped by its inhabitants through the constructive process of posing ideas and enriching them with discussions and the subsequent synthesis of practical policies aimed at shaping this future in a way that reflects their aspirations. In the long term, the project seeks to revisit and reinstate the city's premier role in its Northern, Lebanese, Levantine, Arab, Eastern Christian, Islamic and international hemispheres.

 

Methodology

Practically speaking this project revisits all aspects of the city and analyzes them under modern scientific principles, breaking the intellectual barriers that led to the near-total stagnation in its various capacities. The concept revolves around giving access to a uniquely Tripolitan platform to those who wish to dedicate their intellectual and scientific capacities in the service of Tripoli and its inhabitants.

 

By introducing various hypotheses to discuss constructively, seeking to find practical solutions to their posed challenges, and synthesizing policies to address them, this is for all purposes the people's forum in the 21st century. To complement the theoretical aspects of public policy work in the city, Tripolicy offers educational university-level scholarships to aspiring students who show a willingness to lead, and affinity to excel. This encapsulates the drive for sustainable investment in the future generations of the city.  By creating literature through the contributions on Tripolicy, and by empowering newer generations with university degrees through our scholarship program, Tripolicy is shedding light on current potential thinkers and leaders, and preparing a new generation of pioneers that are prepared to step up and spearhead municipal and legislative work in an effort to realize the Tripoli 2030 vision.

 

Vision

With time, Tripolicy aims to grow and become the go-to platform for voicing the reality of the people and visualizing the future of the city. It would also become an essential hub for identifying its most prominent faces and intellectuals, building bridges of cooperation between them in the process to achieve the intended revival. Yet the most important goal remains to inspire the intellectual discourse among the city's residents and giving them a chance to see that their voice truly matters. By involving them in the discussion Tripolicy is systematically helping in creating a sizable amount of literature concerning the city and the public policies it lacks. Published in both Arabic and English this online journal becomes an invaluable resource for researchers on Tripoli's past, present, and future.

 

The success of this project is contingent on a joint effort from contributors across all the aisles of the city and represents the first tangible step to regain control of a destiny long ignored and wrestled from us to shape the future of Tripoli as we all see fit.

Signature_edited.png

Arch. Yasser El Masri

Tripolicy Logo.jpg

The Founder

This project was founded by Architect Yasser Hussein El Masri in 2020. It is a labor of love for his city and the resultant of profound personal interest in the reality and future of the city of Tripoli coupled with an unwavering tendency to serve the city and its people in shaping its future, Tripolicy was born. Currently he is completing his graduate studies at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, USA.

 

C.V:

-Bachelor's degree in Architecture from Beirut Arab University 2017

-Awarded the Fulbright Scholarship to Study in USA 2017

-Nominated for the Rhodes Scholarship to Oxford University in the UK 2018

-Masters of Science in Sustainable Design from the University of Texas at Austin 2019

-Certificate in Energy Studies from the University of Texas at Austin 2019

-Master of Science in Architecture from Georgia Tech 2020 

 

Currently Completing:

-Ph.D in Architecture from Georgia Tech 2023 

-Master of Sciences in International Affairs from Georgia Tech 2023 

-Certificate in Sustainable Energy and Environmental Management from Georgia Tech 2023 

 

The Co-Founder

Raafat Mahmoud Yamak is the co-founder of Tripolicy. Having lived in multiple countries, his passion for Tripoli remains strong with a desire to see growth and development in the city. Yamak has a strong interest in the Middle East having authored multiple geopolitical analysis articles for various outlets. He is also the founder of the podcast, The Tripolitan.

 

C.V:

-Bachelor's Degree in Geology from Texas A&M 2015

-Master's Degree in Petroleum Engineering Texas A&M 2017

سياسات لا سياسة.

تريبولسي هي تجربة رائدة في لبنان عموماً وفي مدينة طرابلس خصوصاً ترتكز على دراسة وتحليل مدينة طرابلس بجوانبها الفكرية والاجتماعية والثقافية والاقتصادية بأقلام أصحاب الشأن والاختصاص وعموم الناس من اهل المدينة. تخلق تريبوليسي نافذة على حياة أفكار وتجارب هؤلاء الذين كان دوماً لهم رأي ولم يجدوا منبراً للتعبير عنه. تجمع تريبوليسي هذه الأفكار والنظريات لأجل خلق رؤية مستقبلية لطرابلس للعام 2030 وما بعد.

الهدف

انطلقت فكرة تريبوليسي من إيمان عميق بأن مدينة طرابلس تمتلك مقومات قل نظيرها على سواحل المتوسط وتبقى مهدورة ليومنا هذا بما قد يوصف بأنه أكبر عملية تجاهل وحرمان منهجي في تاريخ الجمهورية اللبنانية وحقل السياسات العامة. إن غاية مشروع تريبوليسي هي طرح مستقبل المدينة كموضوع قابل للنقاش والتغيير بعيداً عن التسليم به كقدر محتوم. هذا المستقبل يشكله أبناؤها بالنقاشات البناءة ورسم سياسات عملية غايتها تشكيل هذا المستقبل بالنحو الذي يرتضونه لها. يسعى المشروع على الأمد الطويل لأن يعيد تكريس دور المدينة في محيطها الشمالي، واللبناني، والشامي، والعربي، والمشرقي المسيحي، و الإسلامي و العالمي. هذه الرؤية تعيد النظر في كافة جوانب المدينة وتحليلها بمنطلقات علمية حديثة كاسرةً الحواجز الفكرية التي أدت إلى الركود الشبه تام في مختلف نواحيها.

المنهجية

عمليا يمحص هذا المشروع جوانب مدينة طرابلس كافة ويسعى لتحليلها بنظرة علمية معاصرة كاسرً الحواجز الفكرية التي أدت إلى ركود شبه تام في مختلف نواحيها. الفكرة تكمن في إعطاء منصة ذات خصوصية طرابلسية للذين يرون في تسخير طاقاتهم الفكرية لخدمة المدينة وأهلها فوزاً عظيم وهدفاً نبيلً. بوضعهم أطروحات للنقاش العام, والسعي لإيجاد حلول تطبيقية لإشكالياتها, و خلق سياسات عملية لتنفيذها, تصبح تريبولوسي ساحة الملتقى الرقمية للناس في القرن الواحد والعشرين. وتكملةً للجانب الفكري للمشروع تقدم تريبوليسي منح جامعية للطلاب الذين يبرزوا روح قيادية ونزعة للتميز. هذه المنح هي تسجيد لرسالة المشروع في الإستثمار في مستقبل الطلاب و مدينتهم. بصناعة الأدب العلمي والموروث الفكري الذي سيكتب ويناقش في تريبوليسي و بتسليح الطلاب بالشهادات العلمية والسياسات التي تمثل حلول مختلفة فإن تريبوليسي تسلط الضوء على الطاقات الحالية وتنشئ جيل جديد من القادة المجهزين لريادة العمل البلدي والتشريعي في المدينة لتطبيق رؤية طرابلس 2030 و ما بعد.

 الرؤية

مع الوقت تطمح تريبوليسي لتصبح المركز والمنصة الأساسية للتعبير عن الواقع وتصوّر مستقبل المدينة وتغدو نقطة أساسية للتعرف على أبرز وجوهها ومد جسور التعاون بينهم لتحقيق النهضة المرتقبة. لكن يبقى أبرز هدف هو إلهام الروح الفكرية بين سكان المدينة وجذبهم للنقاش والطرح بخلق معجم فكري وأدبي متعلق بالسياسات العامة التي ستغدو قِبلة الباحث عن طرابلس في ماضيها وحاضرها ومستقبلها. بإعطاء الناس حقهم في الكلام والتعبير يصبحون جزءً من الحوار ويدركون أن لصوتهم قيمة فعلية وقوة للتغيير. من خلال مشاركات الناس المختلفة تقوم تريبوليسي منهجياً بصناعة الأدب العلمي الطرابلسي والمعني بالشأن العام الذي تنقصه المدينة بشكل حاد. بإصدارها باللغتين العربية والإنكليزية تصبح هذه الجريدة الإلكترونية مرجعاً أساسياً للباحثين في ماضي حاضر و مستقبل طرابلس. 

 

إن نجاح هذا المشروع يعتمد على مجهود مشترك من جميع أطياف المدينة وهو خطوة أولى لاسترداد مصيرنا ورسم مستقبل طرابلس بأيدينا. 

Signature_edited.png

المهندس ياسر المصري

Tripolicy Logo.jpg

المؤسس

أسس هذا المشروع المهندس المعماري ياسر حسين المصري في العام 2020 و هو نتاج إهتمام شخصي وكبير بواقع ومستقبل مدينة طرابلس من خلال نزعة بناءة لخدمة المدينة وأهلها ورسم مستقبلها. يتابع الأن تحصيله العلمي في جامعة جورجيا تيك في أتلانتا, الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

 

تحصيله العلمي:

- بكالوريوس في هندسة العمارة من جامعة بيروت العربية 2017

-منحة فولبرايت للدراسة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية 2017

-رشح لجائزة الرودس في جامعة أوكسفورد في بريطانيا 2018

-ماستر في التصميم المستدام من جامعة تكساس في أوستن 2019

-شهادة في دراسات الطاقة من جامعة تكساس في أوستن 2019

-ماستر في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة جورجيا تيك 2020

 

يتابع الأن:

-دكتوارة في الهندسة المعمارية من جامعة جورجيا تيك 2023

-ماستر في العلاقات الدولية من جامعة جورجيا تيك 2023

-شهادة في إدارة الطاقة المستدامة و البيئة من جامعة جورجيا تيك 2023

المؤسس المشارك

ساهم في تأسيس هذا المشروع المهندس رأفت يمق.  رأفت هو مهندس بترول مقيم حاليًا في دالاس، تكساس.بعد أن تنقل وسكن في بلدان متعددة ، لا يزال شغفه بطرابلس قوياً مع الرغبة في رؤية النمو والتطور في المدينة. يمق لديه اهتمام كبير بالشرق الأوسط بعد أن قام بتأليف العديد من مقالات التحليل الجغرافي السياسي لمختلف المنافذ. وهو أيضًا مؤسس البودكاست The Tripolitan هو معلق في الشؤون العربية والشرق أوسطية وقد سبق له أن كتب في الديلي صباح، والعربي الجديد، ومجلة المفتاح، وغيرها.

 

تحصيله العلمي:

- بكالوريوس في هندسة البترول من جامعة تكساس أ أند أم 2015

- ماستر في هندسة البترول من جامعة تكساس أ أند أم 2017